Skip Nav


Navigation menu

❶Filipino Children's Favorite Stories by: The Senate is composed of 24 senators who are elected at-large with the country as one district under plurality-at-large voting.

Sen. Paolo Benigno "Bam" A. Aquino IV

Sen. Juan Edgardo
House speaker: Reconsider term limits to end political dynasties

Search [ Advanced ]. For more information, visit www. Almost four decades since modern medicine became aware of acquired immune deficiency syndrome AIDS 1 in the early s, the world is still grappling with the dreaded disease to this day. Globally, there are an estimated total of Forests are among the valuable natural resources of the Philippines due to their environmental, social, cultural and economic significance.

Sadly, these fundamental assets are gradually disappearing because of continued deforestation. The Philippine Constitution states that: The Congress shall enact a local government code which shall provide for a more responsive and accountable local government structure instituted through a system of decentralization with effective mechanisms of recall, initiative, and referendum, allocate among the different local government units their powers, responsibilities, and resources, and provide for the qualifications, election, appointment and removal, term, salaries, powers and functions and duties of local officials, and all other matters relating to the organization and operation of the local units.

Your browser does not support JavaScript! You must enable JavaScript to view this page. This is to provide continuity in the Philippine Senate by preventing vacancy in all the seats and ensure that at least half of the senators are experienced. The Philippine Constitution allows a senator only two consecutive terms, after which, he or she can no longer run for re-election.

The latest senatorial election was held last May The next senatorial election will be held in May All rights to this Philippine Senators website reserved worldwide. Main Newsblog Newspapers Recipes Travel.

List of Candidates for the Senatorial Elections. Below are the current Senators of the Philippines. The following senators are elected on May and will serve until June 30, Juan Edgardo "Sonny" M. Paolo Benigno "Bam" A. Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Joseph Victor "JV" G. Villar The following senators are elected on May and will serve until June 30,

Main Topics

Privacy Policy

Term of Office of Senators. The term of the members of the Senate is expressly provided in Articles VI and XVIII respectively of the Constitution: the Constitution, in Section 4, Article VI, provides limits to the extent a member of the Senate can run for reelection. and the words "Senate of the Philippines," or "House of.

Privacy FAQs

for the New Home of the Philippine Senate. Open Call for Submission of Expression of Interest from February 14 to March 16, Delineating the Philippines’ Specific Forest Limits June (1 MB) Rice tarrification bill long-term solution to rice woes;.

About Our Ads

Term limits in the United States apply to many offices at both the federal and state level, and date back to the American and three four-year terms for Senate members (twelve years). Once term-limited in one house, a legislator cannot be elected to the other. South Dakota Legislature: four consecutive two-year terms for both. Political Reform and Elite Persistence: Term Limits and Political Dynasties in the Philippines Pablo Querubin Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies October, 1In the most recent elections, Ferdinand Jr. ran succesfully for the Philippines senate but his seat in.

Cookie Info

The Philippine Senate is composed of 24 senators elected nationally by the people for a term of six years. Elections are held every three years where half of the senators (12 seats) are elected. Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez on Saturday batted for the lifting of term limits as a way to stop political dynasties, at the same time former Senate President Aquilino Pimentel Jr. hoped President Rodrigo Duterte would not extend his six-year term beyond